The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy national college grants have been announced.

The 2007 Awardees are:

  • The College of St. Scholastica, Duluth, MN, Lawrence McGahey, Chemistry
  • The College of Wooster, Wooster, OH, Melissa Shultz and Paul Edmiston, Chemistry
  • Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown, PA, Kristi A. Kneas, Chemistry
  • Lynchburg College, Lynchburg, VA, William J. Lokar, III, Chemistry
  • Mount Union College, Alliance, OH, Debra Boyd-Kimball, Chemistry
  • Newberry College, Newberry, SC, Christina McCartha, Chemistry
  • Roger Williams University, Bristol, RI, Nancy E. Breen, Chemistry
  • St. Mary's University of Minnesota, Winona, MN, Dennis J. Gravert, Chemistry
  • Southwestern University, Georgetown, TX, Emily D. Niemeyer, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • St. Louis College of Pharmacy, St. Louis, MO, Ehren C. Bucholtz, Arts and Sciences
  • St. Xavier University, Chicago, IL, Sharada Buddha, Chemistry
  • Truett-McConnell College, Cleveland, GA, Mike Simoneaux, Chemistry and Biology
  • University of the Ozarks, Clarksville, AR, William J. Doria, Chemistry

The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy is a non-profit corporation whose mission is to promote science education. The net financial proceeds from The Pittsburgh Conference fund education programs and institutions, impacting the science education experience for students attending schools ranging from the elementary school level through the post secondary level. Many of the programs are administered by the co-sponsors of The Pittsburgh Conference: The Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh and The Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh. The Pittsburgh Conference Memorial National College Grants program is one aspect of the efforts of the volunteer Committee members of the Pittsburgh Conference and its sponsoring societies to support science education. The maximum funding available for each grant was $10,000.