Lab Manager | Run Your Lab Like a Business

Pittcon Recognizes Outstanding Achievements in Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy

The Pittcon 2015 Program Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of 14 prestigious awards honoring scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy. Each award will be presented during a symposium at Pittcon 2015, March 8-12, 2015, New Orleans, Louisiana.

by Pittcon
Register for free to listen to this article
Listen with Speechify

Presentations will include topics in applications such as bioanalytical, nanotechnology, genomics/proteomics, fuels/energy, materials, polymers/plastics, pharmaceutical, biomedical and neurochemistry. Methodologies include near infrared spectroscopy, molecular and vibrational spectroscopy; mass spectrometry; capillary electrophoresis; electrochemistry; liquid chromatography; sensors, magnetic resonance and chemical methods.

There will be two new awards this year, the Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award and the Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award, both of which are sponsored by LCGC. The LCGC Lifetime Achievement Award honors a seasoned professional for a lifetime of contributions to the advancement of chromatographic techniques and applications. The LCGC Emerging Leader Award recognizes the achievements and aspirations of a talented young separation scientist who has made significant practical contributions to the field of separation science. The LCGC Awards were created in 2008, and for the first time in 2015, the recipients will be honored at Pittcon.

Get training in Creating an Environment of Success and earn CEUs.One of over 25 IACET-accredited courses in the Academy.
Creating an Environment of Success Course

Mike Tessalone.Pittcon“The LCGC Awards were created to honor those who developed the field of chromatography into what it is today, and to recognize the leaders of the next generation of scientists who represent the future,” said LCGC publisher Mike Tessalone. “Our mission at LCGC is to educate our readers, and what better way to do that than to provide real-life examples of people that paved the way for new technologies and methods, while also highlighting current research that is breaking new ground,” he added.

Awards and recipients are as follows:

Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award, Alfred G. Redfield, Brandeis University

Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award, Andrew G. Ewing, Chalmers and Gothenburg Universities

Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award, Ryan C. Bailey, University of Illinois

ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science, Dwight R. Stoll, Gustavus Adolphus College

Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award, Mark R. Schure, Kroungold

SEAC Charles N. Reilley Award, Hubert Girault, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

SEAC Royce W. Murray Award, Thomas Hamann, Michigan State University

Ralph N. Adams Award, John R. Yates, The Scripps Research Institute 

The Coblentz Society Williams Wright Award, David Jonas, University of Colorado

Pittcon Heritage Award, A. Blaine Bowman, Illumina

The LCGC Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award, Joseph Jack Kirkland, Advanced Materials Technology, Inc.

The LCGC Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award, Caroline West, University of Orleans

See complete details and bios at