Lab Manager | Run Your Lab Like a Business

AAPS Announces 2011 NBC Award Winners

In the Opening Session of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists’ 2011 National Biotechnology...

by Other Author
Register for free to listen to this article
Listen with Speechify

In the Opening Session of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists’ (AAPS) 2011 National Biotechnology Conference, AAPS President Philip R. Mayer, Ph.D., presented the following ground-breaking researchers with awards commemorating their contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences:

Excellence in Ligand-Binding Assay Award – Sponsored by Millipore

• From Bristol-Myers Squibb: Murli Krishna, Ph.D., Alexander Kozhich, Ph.D., Suk Kwok, Zhen Lou, and Paul Rhyne, Ph.D.— “Ligand Binding Assays to Measure Free, Total and Complexed Therapeutic Protein and its Target”

Innovation in Biotechnology Awards – Sponsored by Genentech

• From The Ohio State University School of Pharmacy: Chenguang Zhou— “Cellular Pharmacokinetics (PK) and Target Gene Knockdown of Surfactant- and Lipid-based Nanocarriers (NCs) of siRNA”

• From University of California Riverside: Kaila Bennett— “Engineering a T-cell Independent Vaccine for the Mucosal Immune System”

• From Amgen, Inc.: Suzanna Tatarewicz— “Epitope Characterization of Anti-Therapeutic Antibodies to IgG1 Therapeutics”

• From University of Toronto: Matthew Durk— “Regulation of Brain P-glycoprotein (P-gp) by the Vitamin D Receptor (VDR) Leads to Reduced Accumulation of Beta Amyloids”

• From Massachusetts Institute of Technology: Diwakar Shukla—“Additives for Inhibiting Protein Aggregation”

Biotechnology Graduate Student Symposium Awards – Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company

NOTE: The Graduate Student Symposium will take place on Wednesday, May 18 at noon in Yosemite Rooms A and B of the Hilton San Francisco Union Square.

• Lubna M. Abuqayyas – State University of New York, Buffalo “Use of Modeling and Simulation to Investigate the Influence of co-Administered Soluble Antigen Fragments on the Tumor Penetration of mAbs”

• Ying He – University of Illinois at Chicago “Substance P Release Mediated by Synchronized Activation of PKA and PKC Serves as a Cellular Mechanism for Paclitaxel-Induced Persistent Pain”

• Nishant Kumar Jain – Department of Biotechnology, NIPER Mohali “Selection of RNA Aptamer(s) for Stabilization of Tetanus Toxoid against Moisture-Induced Aggregation”

• Tao Wang – Northeastern University “Landscape Phage Fusion Protein Self-Assembled with Pharmaceutical Nanocarriers for Targeted and Cytoplasmic Delivery of Chemotherapeutics to Breast Cancer Cells”