Lab Manager | Run Your Lab Like a Business

ALA Selects $10,000 Innovation Award Winner

The Association for Laboratory Automation (ALA) has announced the winner of the LabAutomation2010 $10,000 ALA Innovation Award.

Register for free to listen to this article
Listen with Speechify


The Association for Laboratory Automation (ALA) has announced the winner of the LabAutomation2010 $10,000 ALA Innovation Award. Ali Khademhosseini, Ph.D., Cambridge, MA, USA, Harvard-Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was honored for his podium presentation, Microengineered Hydrogels for Tissue Engineering and Stem Cell Bioengineering.

The winner was announced during the closing plenary session at LabAutomation2010, the world’s leading conference and exhibition on emerging laboratory technologies. The conference, which was held January 23–27, 2010 at the Palm Springs Convention Center, Palm Springs, CA, USA played host to over 4,000 participants from across the globe.

The ALA Innovation Award recognizes the year’s Top Candidates who present innovative laboratory technologies or new, highly useful technological advances and applications as a podium presentation. Those presentations demonstrating extraordinary vision, originality, seminal technology, applications and strategies are selected to qualify for the award.

“As is always the case, the LabAutomation2010 ALA Innovation Award competition was fierce and we could not be more pleased with the diversity and quality of submissions for this year’s award,” said ALA Innovation Award Chair Jörg Kutter, Ph.D.  “All of the Top Candidates were captivating, but Dr. Khademhosseini’s presentation solidly won the 2010 ALA Innovation Award.  This award was created to specifically recognize leading-edge research impacting the field of laboratory automation and the outstanding researcher(s) behind the work. As in years past, it is extremely exciting and gratifying to have such a solid group of finalists worthy of this designation.”

This year the Top Candidates for the $10,000 ALA Innovation Award – of which there are 10 – will travel to present their work at AchemAsia, June 2–5, 2010 in Beijing, China.  Their travel expenses will be paid by ALA, DECHEMA and Peking University.  

In addition to the $10,000 ALA Innovation Award, each year ALA recognizes the top new products showcased on the LabAutomation2010 exhibit floor through the ALA New Product Award (NPA) designation. This year’s winners are:
  • ArtusLabs – Method Genius
  • Beckman Coulter – SPRIworks
  • Emerald Biosystems – MPCS Plug Maker
Rounding out the awards presented at LabAutomation2010 are the student poster award winners.  ALA selected a limited number of student posters to be presented at the conference and considered for the Student Poster Awards Competition, which results in cash prizes. LabAutomation2010 student poster award winners are:
  • 1st Place – Govind Kaigala, Stanford University
    "Label-Free Toxin Detection Using Fluorescent Fingerprint Assay"
  • 2nd Place – Massimo Alberti, Technical University of Denmark
    "Electrical and Fluidic Characterization of a Novel Integrated System for Automatic Patch-Clamp on Cultured Neural Networks"
  • 3rd Place – David Sabourin, Technical University of Denmark
    "Modular System for Connecting and Actuating Parallel Microfluidic Networks"

Source: The Association for Laboratory Automation