Lab Manager | Run Your Lab Like a Business

CCR Honors Chemical Researchers with Prestigious Awards

The Council for Chemical Research (CCR) is proud to announce the 2012 recipients of the Malcolm E. Pruitt Award and the Collaboration Success Award.

by Other Author
Register for free to listen to this article
Listen with Speechify

The Council for Chemical Research Announces Recipients of Industry Awards

MOUNT LAUREL, N.J. April 19, 2012— The Council for Chemical Research (CCR), a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing research in chemistry, chemical engineering and related disciplines, is proud to announce the 2012 recipients of the Malcolm E. Pruitt Award and the Collaboration Success Award.

Malcolm E. Pruitt Award

Dr. William F. Banholzer of Dow Chemical Company has been named the recipient of the 2012 Malcolm E. Pruitt Award. The award, named in honor of CCR’s founder, recognizes an individual in the industry whose efforts demonstrate exceptional contributions to the development of chemistry-related sciences.

"Bill’s personal commitment to industry and academic R&D partnerships is helping train the next generation in skills that are still vitally important to the chemical industry," said C. Paul Mendez, Executive Director of CCR.

Dr. Banholzer’s efforts to advance the field of chemical research has helped launch various innovative programs, including the 2007 Dow Methane Challenge.

Collaboration Success Award

The CCR Collaboration Success Award honors a team of professionals in the industry, whose combined efforts have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of chemistry-related science or engineering. This year’s recipients are being recognized for their research titled, Development of Novel Pyrochlore Catalysts for Reforming of Hydrocarbon Fuels.

Recipients of the 2012 Collaboration Success Award include:

  • The National Energy Technology Laboratory
  • Louisiana State University
  • Precision Combustion Inc.
  • Delphi
  • West Virginia State University
  • EG&G

“The efforts of these professionals have resulted in new technologies and will continue to advance the industry,” said Dr. Seth Snyder, President of CCR.

Both the Malcolm E. Pruitt Award and the Collaboration Success Award were established to recognize the exceptional progress and continuing efforts of chemical researchers. CCR introduced the Pruitt Award in 1985, honoring Malcolm E. Pruitt as the first recipient. The Collaboration Success Award was first given to a team of researchers at the 20th Anniversary Meeting in 1999.

The 2012 recipients of each award will be honored at the 33rd Annual CCR Meeting in Dearborn, MI, May 20-22. The meeting will focus on challenges the chemical industry faces for the growing areas of alternative energy, agriculture and human health. For more information or to register, visit

Nominations for the 2013 Malcolm E. Pruitt Award and Collaboration Success Award will be accepted through February 2013. For details, requirements and eligibility, visit